Staff in the Spotlight

Getting to Know Maria Colbert

 Maria Colbert

Where are you from:  St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada

Years at I.S.: Summer 2017 will be my first

Why did you decide to work at camp this summer?I decided to work at camp this summer because I was looking for an interesting work term to do with my degree in Kinesiology. I wanted to be away from home in a different country where I could learn so many new things and meet new people. I have heard from so many people that Iroquois Springs is an amazing place to work so I thought I should experience it for myself.

What are you looking to learn this summer from being a counselor?I’m hoping to learn how to live away from home and how to be more independent. I also hope to learn how to work with kids for the full 24 hours of a day. In past jobs, I have only worked with children for a few hours per day however I am excited to learn how to be their caretaker for the full summer.

How are you looking to impact your children this summer?I hope to make a lasting impression on my children this summer and hope that they will remember how much fun we had together for many years to come. I aspire to be someone my children will look up to and will remember as a counsellor that they had a special relationship with.

How are you feeling about the summer?  Nervous?  Excited?  (Other staff are in same position so it would be good to hear what you are feeling)  I’m very excited for this summer to come. I can’t wait to try all the activities Iroquois Springs has to offer and I am so excited to meet my children.

Tell us an interesting fact/story about yourself?  An interesting fact about myself is that I have been a basketball-playing ballerina for most of my life. I started dancing at the age of 3 and I started playing basketball at age 8. These activities are so different therefore it is often strange when people are so highly involved in both activities. However, I love both activities so much and I continue to give back to the dance and basketball community through teaching and coaching in my home town.